Our History

About Community Bank of the South

Founded in 1999 by a group of local businessmen and community leaders, Community Bank of the South, headquartered on Atlanta Road in Smyrna, has four offices in Cobb County. As a true community bank, we live up to our motto, “Local People, Local Decisions.”

We are able to continuously offer new products and services designed to make banking more convenient. Community Bank of the South has a number of services and products that carry the bank's service philosophy a step further including lockbox services, remote deposit capture, courier pick-up and drop-off, online banking and bill pay, ATMs, mortgage loans, commercial and consumer loans and quick and efficient loan approvals. CBS, the Support System for Enterprising People….delivering service that exceeds expectations.



Our Mission Statement

We work together as a team to exceed customer, community and shareholder expectations,

in an environment where employees are challenged and rewarded.

We strive to exceed customer expectations by meeting their needs by providing superior, personal service and providing an array of financial solutions.

We strive to be a leader in the growth and economic development as well as support

and participate in civic affairs of the communities we serve.

Our success is guided by the highest standards of financial integrity and business practices

to encourage growth, strength and shareholder value.

We recognize our employees as one of our most valued assets, challenging them

professionally and rewarding them personally.




Providing Equal Employment Opportunities

Community Bank of the South recognizes its duty to continue to provide equal employment opportunity to all qualified persons and reaffirms its commitment that there will be no discrimination against applicants or employees because of race, religion, color, sex, age, national origin, citizenship, military service or handicap and that all employees will be treated fairly during their employment in matters of promotion, upgrading, selections for training, lay off and termination, benefits and rates of pay. Community Bank of the South supports a diverse workforce and is a Drug Testing and Equal Opportunity Employer.


At this time there are no positions available.




Directors & Officers

Board of Directors

Charles J. Jones
Chairman of the Board

R. Randall Bentley, Sr.

Jack W. Corn
Guy F. Hill, Jr.

James C. Pitts, DDS

Jay Y. McClure

Tom M. Phillips

A. Milburn Poston

Lee A. Scroggins, Jr.

James C. Wallace

Diane P. Jones, Director Emeritus

James T. Willoughby, Director Emeritus


Executive Officers

Sylvia D. Hamby
President & Chief Operating Officer


Lee A. Scroggins
Chief Executive Officer


Mary P. Tinsley
Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

Tony Webb
Executive Vice President & Senior Lender

Branch Managers

Nancy Eaton Main Office
Smyrna, Georgia

Lisa D. Hendley West Cobb Office
Marietta, Georgia

Erin Fennelly

Johnson Ferry
Road & Canton
Road Offices
Marietta , GA


HomePrivacySecurityTerms & Conditions

Copyright 2016 CharterBank. All Rights Reserved